А Витька говорит...

THAT VITYA SAYS…
by Evgeny Shatko.

On the first day of my holidays I settled myself comfortably on the sofa after breakfast and relaxed with the newspapers. Within three minutes my five-years son cautiously peeped into the room.
“Dad, is it true what granny says, that you’re not to be disturbed?”.
“That’s right, rest», he said. «Just tell me where kengeroos live and then go ahead and rest.”
“Not kengeroos, but kangaroos.”
“All right, kangaroos,”
“In the zoo,” I said sleepily.
My son left but was back in a minute.
“Granny says that kangaroos live in Africa.”
So as not to undermine her authority I said evasively:
“Yes, in certain cases kangaroos live in Africa. Go and play hockey.”
“All right.” he said agreeably.
In 15 minutes I was awakened by a wet mitten touching my nose.
“Dad, Vitya says that kangaroos live exclusively in Australia.» he said reproachfully. «and nowhere else!”.
Somewhat stung, I said:
“A lot he knows, your Vitya, about kangaroos!”
“Oh, he does!” said my son. “Could you show me, for instance, how a kangaroo jumps?”.
“A person can’t jump like a kangaroo.” I said, “especially on his holidays.”
“Well, Vitya can.” my son said sadly, and added in a low voice: “he also sais that these kangaroos have pouches. Did you know that? On their tummies.”
I felt that my authority was swiftly crumbling. That all-knowing Vitya had to be put down. I inquired impressively:
[…]

От автора-переводчика: полный текст данного рассказа находится у Моисеевой Татьяны Николаевны, жены Евгения Ивановича Шатько - автора данного рассказа. тел. Татьяны Николаевны Моисеевой +7 916 967-10-74. 


Рецензии
Ознакомилась с тремя рассказами известного российского писателя Евгения Шатько в переводе на английский язык Татьяны Моисеевой: «12 децибелов», «Восхождение», «А Витька говорит…». Англичане всегда славились своим юмором и ценили его. В переводах хорошо передан добрый юмор рассказов Е. Шатько. Интересно не только для русскоязычных читателей, знающих английский, но, уверена, и для носителей языка.
В рассказе «А Витька говорит…» Евгений Шатько приоткрыл неповторимый внутренний мир ребенка. Переводчику Татьяне Моисеевой удалось не только сделать адекватный перевод, но и сохранить обаяние прозы российского писателя, ее энергетический заряд.
Любовь СИДОРОВА, член Союза писателей России и Академии российской литературы

Любовь Сидорова   11.01.2016 13:36     Заявить о нарушении