Эдвард де Вер Стремится к чудесам любви рассудок м

 Стремится к чудесам любви рассудок мой,
 Но удивлён её безумною ценой.
 Вреднее ненависти злой любви каприз:
 Начало положил Приамов сын  Парис.

 Бог Сна заставил выбрать, затуманив ум,
 Любовь и отказать другим богиням двум.
 Бессмысленно винить,  тревожа его прах,
 Любой потомок его - тот же вертопрах.

 За преступления любви свои, засим,
 Себя сужу я, но завидую другим.

 My meaning is to work what wonders love hath wrought,
 Wherewith I muse why men of wit have love so dearly bought;
 For love is worse than hate, and eke more harm hath done:
 Record I take of those that rede of Paris, Priam’s son.

 It seemed the God of sleep had mazed so much his wits
 When he refused wit for love, which cometh but by fits;
 But why accuse I him, whom earth hath covered long?
 There be of his posterity alive, I do him wrong.

 Whom I might well condemn to be a cruel judge
 Unto myself, who hath the crime in others that I grudge.


Рецензии