Runtu I was trying really hard not to cry USA

Runtu : I was trying really hard not to cry when a Mercedes pulled up beside me UK

Growing up, my nemesis was always a kid down my street named Mitchell.

His family had money, and he clearly thought our large Mormon family was worthy of ridicule. It didn’t help that I was short and thin and rather shy.

Almost immediately after we moved into the neighborhood, I became the focus of his mocking disdain.

Sometimes he would briefly act as if we were friends, and being a forgiving sort, I would play baseball or go skateboarding with him, or even sometimes go to a movie together.

 But the friendship was always short-lived, and it would go back to the way it had been.

At school and on the bus, in particular, Mitchell was always careful to show everyone that he would have nothing to do with a loser like me.

Probably the nadir of our acquaintance came one day when I was about 12 on the bus when he, sitting behind me, put a wad of gum in my hair while his friends laughed.

On the way home from the bus stop, walking up the steep hill towards my house, I was trying really hard not to cry when a Mercedes pulled up beside me.

It was Mitchell’s father, and he motioned for me to get in so he could give me a ride home.

 I just couldn’t do it, so I turned away and kept walking.

 Mitchell’s father kept honking and shouting my name, but I ignored him, and he finally gave up and drove away.

From that time on, I stayed away from him and ignored his sporadic attempts to be friendly. He had crossed a line, and he knew it.

 I didn’t speak to him at all for a few years.

My junior year in high school, I was walking to school one morning, and I heard Mitchell yell, “Wait up!” He ran up beside me and said we might as well walk to school together.

The conversation, such as it was, was kind of awkward and forced, but I figured I was stuck with him for the six blocks to the high school.


As we approached the school, I saw a senior, a well-known druggie, leaning against the chain-link fence behind the shop building.


“Hey, Kleinman!” he yelled, and I turned to see Mitchell’s well-tanned face go pale.

“I don’t want any trouble,” Mitchell’s voice was quiet and a little shaky.

“Yeah? Well, you got trouble,” said the guy through dirty braces.

And then he threw a punch. Mitchell cowered against the fence while the guy swung at him. Time seemed to stop for me.

 I wondered if I should get involved if I should help him.

But then Mitchell wasn’t my friend, and he wasn’t fighting back anyway. So I stood there, watching the one-sided fight unfold.

I don’t know what Mitchell had done, but the guy’s face was full of rage and hate, and he kept pummeling Mitchell, until Mitchell suddenly broke and ran.

“I’m going to sue you!” Mitchell screamed, bleeding from his nose and mouth.
The last time I ever talked to Mitchell was when he called me that evening to ask if I would be willing to testify against the other guy if they filed a lawsuit. Sure, why not?


Years later, I was walking with my children down the street past Mitchell’s house when his father pulled up in a new Mercedes.

He had that look on his face that told me he still thought
 I was that weird kid who wouldn’t get in the car.

He asked me how I was doing,

and I told him I was doing great,
 married with children and with two degrees and a good career.

“How’s Mitchell?” I asked.

“Oh, great,” he said with obvious pride.

 “He just bought a Lexus.”

Somehow, I never felt bad about watching
 Mitchell get the crap beaten out of him.


10 Пьес автора и Стэнфордский университет США : / http://proza.ru/diary/yuri2008/2022-02-26 / Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022 .


-
10 Драма ЖИЗНЬ МАТВЕЯ : Вторая Мировая Война : авторская страница : Историческая драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : / http://proza.ru/2022/01/30/876 / 1938-1995 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
9 Драма Смерть Собора Святого Духа / http://proza.ru/2017/12/04/141 / авторская страница : Историческая Драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1725-1987 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
8 Драма Пророк Mухаммед и Xадиджа / http://proza.ru/2019/10/21/888 / авторская страница : Историческая Драма на исламскую тему и Мировая Культура : России - Европы - Азии и Арабского Мира : 575-620 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
7 Драма Братья Карамазовы как Приемыши / http://proza.ru/2017/12/03/1052 / авторская страница : Историческая Драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1860-1879 : Психоанализ романа « Братья Карамазовы » писателя Ф. М. Достоевского: 1860-1879 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
6 Драма Дети и Внуки Братьев Карамазовых Runtu Uri / http://proza.ru/2017/12/03/1129 / авторская страница : Многое из текста драмы - обсуждено в беседах автора - ( в июне 1987 и в сентябре 1988 : Россия ) - с Ириной Одоевцевой и - с Анастасией Цветаевой ( в мае : 1980 : Коктебель : Черное море : СССР ) : Историческая Драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1879 - 1998 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
5 Драма Русский Сальери Борис Пастернак / http://proza.ru/2017/12/03/369 / авторская страница : Историческая драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1930-1964 / http://proza.ru/diary/yuri2008/2022-03-08 / 1930-1964 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
4 Драма Лубянка Маяковского и Лилии Брик / http://proza.ru/2017/12/02/1200 / авторская страница : Историческая драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1922-1930 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
3 Драма Ад Есенина C. и Айседоры Дункан / http://proza.ru/2017/12/02/380 / авторская страница : Историческая драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1919-1925 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
2 Драма Тайна Александра Блока / http://proza.ru/2017/12/02/1082 / авторская страница : Историческая драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1917-1921 / http://stihi.ru/diary/yuri2005/2022-03-08 / 1917-1921 Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022
-
1 Драма Жена и Мать 1918 Царь Николай II / http://proza.ru/2017/12/02/400 / авторская страница : Историческая драма на славянскую тему о Великой культуре Грандиозной России : 1881-1918 / Iouri Runtu: French / Юри Рюнтю : Russian / Uri Runtu: English : Yuri Ryuntyu / Canberra ACT Australia / Celebrities RU Telegram : 2022


Рецензии