Matthew by Rudolf Nureyev Without Make UP

Ðþíòþ Þðè: ëèòåðàòóðíûé äíåâíèê

Publication Announcement-2009 Australia RU / http://proza.ru/diary/yuri2008/2008-04-16 / 2006


Charitable Organization “The World Patrick White Intellectual Heritage: Australia” starting publication of the 10-Books of Australian Writer Yuri Ryuntyu in this year of his the 60-th jubilee: 1949-2009 in English, Russian and French:


Book 1
2009 ROCK IDOL & SUPERSTAR: Freddie Mercury and Rudolf Nureyev
ISBN 978-0-9806446-0-9 ART DOCUMENTARY: 1938-1993
Book 2
2009 RUDY NUREYEV: WITHOUT MAKE-UP
ISBN 978-0-9806446-1-6 SHORT STORY
Book 3
2009 ROUDI NOUREEV: Sans Maquillage
ISBN 978-0-9806446-2-3 SHORT STORY
Book 4
ISBN 978-0-9806446-3-0 BALLET DOCUMENTARY: 1910-1997
2009 ÎÄÍÎÒÎÌÍÈÊ ÂÅËÈÊÈÅ ÍÅÌÛÅ: ÍÓÐÅÅÂ ÓËÀÍÎÂÀ ÄÓÄÈÍÑÊÀß ÝÑÀÌÁÀÅÂ ÏËÈÑÅÖÊÀß ÀÞÕÀÍÎÂ
Book 5
2009 ÑÓÏÅÐÇÂÅÇÄÀ & ÐÎÊ-ÈÄÎË : ÍÓÐÅÅÂ È ÌÅÐÊÞÐÈ
ISBN 978-0-9806446-4-7 ART DOCUMENTARY: 1938-1993
Book 6
ISBN 978-0-9806446-5-4 THEATRE DOCUMENTARY: 1917-1997
2009 ÎÄÍÎÒÎÌÍÈÊ ÐÅÊÂÈÅÌ ÄËß ÔÀÐÈÑÅß: ÞÐÈÉ ËÞÁÈÌÎÂ
Book 7
ISBN 978-0-9806446-6-1 SCIENCE FICTION
2009 ÎÄÍÎÒÎÌÍÈÊ ÏÀÐÀËËÅËÜÍÛÅ ÌÈÐÛ: ÀÍÄÐÅÉ ÒÀÐÊÎÂÑÊÈÉ
Book 8
ISBN 978-0-9806446-7-8 SHORT STORY
2009 ÎÄÍÎÒÎÌÍÈÊ ÑÊÀÇÊÈ ÑÒÀÐÎÃÎ ×ÅËÎÂÅÊÀ
Book 9
ISBN 978-0-9806446-8-5 THEATRE DOCUMENTARY: 1936-1996
2009 ÎÄÍÎÒÎÌÍÈÊ ÐÅÖÅÏÒ ÄËß ÃÅÍÈß: ÐÎÌÀÍ ÂÈÊÒÞÊ
Book 10
2009 ÐÓÄÈ ÍÓÐÅÅÂ: ÁÅÇ ÌÀÊÈßÆÀ
ISBN 978-0-9806446-9-2 SHORT STORY


ÑÅÐÈß ÈÇ 35 ÊÍÈÃ Þðè Ìýòòüþ Ðþíòþ: Youri Mathieu Runtu: Yuri Matthew RYUNTYU - ÏÐÎÔÈÍÀÍÑÈÐÎÂÀÍA ÑÓÏÅÐÇÂÅÇÄÀÌÈ ÌÈÐÎÂÎÉ ÈÍÒÅËËÅÊÒÓÀËÜÍÎÉ ÝËÈÒÛ È ÌÓËÜÒÈÌÈËËÈÎÍÅÐÀÌÈ ÍÓÐÅÅÂÛÌ http://rudolfnureyev.com.au/ È ÔÐÝÄÄÈ ÌÅÐÊÜÞÐÈ http://mercuryfreddie.com.au/, ÓÎÐÕÎËÎÌ http://warholandy.com.au/ È ÓÀÉÒÎÌ http://patrickwhite.com.au/ ÄËß ÁÅÇÂÎÇÌÅÇÄÍÎÃÎ ÐÀÑÏÐÎÑÒÐÀÍÅÍÈß Â 200 ÑÒÐÀÍÀÕ ÑÎÄÐÓÆÅÑÒÂÀ ÎÎÍ c 1998-2008.


Ïèñàòåëü Þðè Ìýòüþ Ðþíòþ:
ÐÓÑÑÊÎE ÇÀÐÓÁÅÆÜE: ÀÂÑÒÐÀËÈß


Àâñòðàëèàía Ëèòåðàòóðà Póññêîãî 3àðóáåæüÿ


Yuri Matthew Ryuntyu was born in KIZHI, ONEGA LAKE, Russia. Following his studies at the Academy of Science, Yuri Matthew RYUNTYU moved to Sydney (Australia) and worked, most notably, as a medico-biology scientist. A prizewinning scholar and academician, he has published a 45 books of literary and cultural criticism, including <The Recipe for the Genius>, <The Requiem for the Foresee>, <The Grate Surrenders>, <Abreast and Profile of The Imperial Russian Ballet> and <The Apostolic Silver Age of Russian Culture>. He has also written for such publication as the World of News, the Book Review, the Theatre Life, the Pravda, the Moscow Evening, the Moscow Pravda, the Megapolis Express and the Evening Club about Poetry, Literature, Movies, Religion, History, Music, Opera, Ballet, Politics and Australian Arts, where he is a contributing editor. His literary works and articles are available in English, French, Russian, German, Japanese and Kazakh for readers. Ryuntyu was able to dedicate himself entirely to literature following the success of <Rudolf Nureyev: without Make-up> in Russia, a gloomy satire on sexuality published in 1995. Ryuntyu’s ironic and often disillusioned perception of the state of affairs in Russia during and after the Communist occupation produced a body of work that is still at the forefront of twentieth-century Russian and Australian literature. A most famous: <The Temptation: Boris Yeltsin>, <On the Way of the Cross: Alexander Solzhenitsyn>, <Idol Russian Gay Culture: Sergey Paradzhanov> and <The Meditation: Bella Akhmadulina and Joseph Brodsky> http://ryuntyu.com/8o/ Yuri Ryuntyu live in Cairns, Great Barrier Reef, Australia + Ðþíòþ o Êóëüòóðe Ðîññèÿí â ÑØÀ The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum USA http://www.reaganlibrary.com/


+ http://ryuntyu.com/BIBLIOGRAPHY.htm + http://ryuntyu.com/DIPLOMA.htm


ÏÐÎÄÎËÆÅÍÈÅ HA ÏÎÝÇÈß: ÐÓÑÑÊÎ-ßÇÛ×ÍÀß ÀÂÑÒÐÀËÈß-ÕÕI ÂÅÊ THE MODERN RUSSIAN LITERATURE: POETRY RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://stihi-ru.com/ ÄÅÒÑÊÀß ËÈÒÅÐÀÒÓÐÀ: ÐÓÑÑÊÎ-ßÇÛ×ÍÀß ÀÂÑÒÐÀËÈß-ÕÕI ÂÅÊ THE MODERN RUSSIAN LITERATURE FOR CHILDREN: RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://ryuntyu.com/


Visit 10 AUSTRALIAN WEB-sites IN AUSTRALIA:


THE MODERN RUSSIAN LITERATURE FOR CHILDREN: RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://ryuntyu.com/
THE MODERN RUSSIAN LITERATURE: PROSE RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://proza-ru.com/
THE MODERN RUSSIAN LITERATURE: POETRY RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://stihi-ru.com/
THE MODERN RUSSIAN DRAMATURGY: THEATRE RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://bravorussia-ru.com/
THE CLASSICAL GRAND AND MODERN RUSSIAN BALLET: RUSSIAN-SPEAKING AUSTRALIA-XXI CENTURY http://vivarussia-ru.com/
THE WORLD ANDY WARHOL INTELLECTUAL HERITAGE: XXI CENTURY http://warholandy.com.au/
THE WORLD RUDOLF NUREYEV INTELLECTUAL HERITAGE: XXI CENTURY http://rudolfnureyev.com.au/
THE WORLD FREDDIE MERCURY INTELLECTUAL HERITAGE: XXI CENTURY http://mercuryfreddie.com.au/
THE WORLD PATRICK WHITE INTELLECTUAL HERITAGE: XXI CENTURY http://patrickwhite.com.au/
THE WORLD YURI MATTHEW RYUNTYU INTELLECTUAL HERITAGE: XXI CENTURY http://ryuntyu.com.au/


YURI MATTHEW


«An unmistakable message has passed.
It was as though their two minds had opened and the thoughts
were flowing from one into the other through their eyes.
I know precisely what you are feeling.
I know all about your concept, your hatred your disgust.
And then the flash of love was gone and his face was as inscrutable as everyone else’s…»: George Orwell.


“Well, Yuri, what else can I say? You are at the same age as he was when I met him”: P. White about G. Orwell.


We sat simultaneously on the bench.


Patrick started to reminisce…


“I met George in Madrid. He was British and we fell in love, it was complete madness. We were so young and reckless. George was handsome reporter for the British Media and I was an Intelligence officer for the RAF. God knows how long ago it was. It was my first and last real love. Love was fresh and pure. We were honest with no pretending. Such things I never tasted again ... It was the Spanish wartime. Later he wrote about our feeling of tenderness in his masterpiece “1984”.”


“Even with Barbara Mobbs and Manoly L a s … c a r … is?” I jealously cut in.


“Don’t ask me about him. Isn’t it true that we already live together for half a century? To be ... exact a little less ... as one family. I am married you know?”


“But, now it’s 1985, Pat.”


“Yes, our wedding was, if the calendar doesn’t lie, in 1936. I wish everyone happiness and to be loyally in love forever.


Have you noticed that white swans can’t survive in Australia?” he points his finger towards the pond.


“Yes, here is the kingdom of darkness. Locals un – m i s t a k – i n g – l y see these tar black birds as an example of universal beauty. But, damn it anyway. Everything here is upside down. We have adjusted walking with our heads downwards.”


“What of the white swans in Europe? Moscow has so many of them too,” I reminisce about Russia.


“Of course, whiteness is closer to the purity of snow. The Australian darkness always puzzled me. Black is an antagonist to white.”


“Is that true Mr. White,” I grinned cheekily. “I feel exactly the same and ever since childhood I was crazy about whiteness. Look up at the bright sunlit sky,” I nervously stuttered as I glanced to the horizon where some black swans flew.


“There are too many and they’re so close as gathered to m o u r n … Mr. White,” he whispered.


A flock of swans circled overhead, searching for prey. They noisily and carelessly splashed the surface of the pond, and then began to greedily fight for the reeds on the bank.


“No, there is no grace in them. They are black inside and out, the same as their bloody offspring. Isn’t it such a miracle?” he claps his hands together.


“They aren’t completely black bastards yet. Like us, they aren’t born as replicas or clones of their parents,” I state.


“Then why?” he asks me. “Are you ashamed of yourself? Did the banana lifestyle infect your brain? Why you are so narrowing minded? Why in the bloody hell do we need to become true d i n k u m … Aussies?”


“But, I love Australia,” I answer and wink silently as I start to go home.


“Don’t leave me with such sadness,” he screams and hobbles after me to try and block my way.


“Why do you need me so desperately, Patrick? Such pet boys run around you in the thousands, like sex slaves in Oxford St.,” I snapped angrily and finally lose control of myself.


“Yuri, please, lets sit and talk, maybe you can tell me a story?” he looks guilty into my eyes.


“Here’s a bench. Come on, Yuri.”


I unwillingly obeyed and began to retell something from my memory.


The park became suddenly silent. I was the only one making a noise and he only heard my voice.


It was my story published last week in “The Famous Reporter”:


Separation had altered my feelings for Sydney.
I was no longer able to live there.
No matter where I went, my legs unconsciously took me back home, where I had left my children.
This developed more and more into suicidal obsession... I decided to save myself from this.
Perhaps my long distance jogging might have helped cure me.
The sound of the name Armidale attracted me and for this reason I came to New England.
The only beautiful spot here in the park surrounded by Holy Churches. Close to it
I stopped. In a moment, the room of the motel was very handy.


Two years passed and I’ve overcome the pain
caused by my ex-wife.
I woke up and began to look around.
A big unpredictability awaited me.
My eyes found something that I had expected.
This happened so simply and it could
only have happened thus.


It was pleasantly warm, when one Sunday I sat
down on a solitary bench. The Marlboro was
smoked with tranquility. The dusk of evening
was lightly rejected illumination around the
public toilets.
My inner cogitation pleased me.
The sun had just set.


Unexpectedly, the shape of a stranger detached
itself from a clump of trees, and approaching
me made the proposition to have oral sex.
My breathing stopped from amazement, horror,
and undefined agony. The subterraneous mystery
of this Golgotha was beginning to reveal itself
to me. I did not know, nor had ever thought of it...
Disconcerted by my ignorance the teenager
disappeared as silently as he had come.


I continued to smoke, pretending that
nothing unusual had occurred.
Instinctively, I looked around and perceived
that several sodomites were watching me
in consternation.
I didn’t know the dirty answers.
I didn’t comprehend their immodest curiosity.
Very slowly I started to sense my rapport with
this dark place. I felt that an invisible sunrise
was revealing itself to me. Yes, this past
occurrence shoved me into a puzzling and
unknown horizon.
I began to notice those whom previously I had
never seen.
And guess what? Many of them have became my close
mates now.
The summer passed, and after it the winter.
Many things inevitably changed.
I became tempted to love the male body:
the firm but yielding muscles which excite
my sexual feelings.
I’m overcome by the bitter-sweet kiss
which stops my beating heart.


How many have I met? These encounters, these
partings, these unexpected attractions or brief
friendships.
They long for that one and only...
who would fulfill their happiness.
Each one of them dreams of the ultimate
love-match;
the only relationship with someone who would
love them forever.
Yes, amongst us there are many dreamers.
A new life for me indeed with them:
I discovered my ego.
I welcome my future , which revealed itself
to me involuntarily...


Nearly all of this I want to tell you.


The portraits of these living people formed
my old student’s note-book.
Throughout these many stories occur real names.
Each man holds boiling barbaric passions
of the daily accidental interactions.
Their erotic emotions entwined with sinfulness,
and shaped by daily life.
We are all united in gayness.
We are incapable of rejecting our nature.
We hate ourselves for foolish lies to wives,
mothers and our children.
In the hopelessness of guilt we beg the priests
to relieve our hurt of doubt...”


Then he cuts in saying …


“It’s impossible not to love these lonely souls.
My heart belongs to them all. I love all of you.
Yes, I love all of you, truly... love you all.
There is no solution I am what I am...
Patrick White.”


He silently searched for the appropriate words to
continue ...


“But, if we’re not ready for the damned answer,
what can we do, mate? One thing is for sure,
you’re a bloody talented story teller,”
he said hiding a smile behind his frailty … hands.


He crouches in front of me and suddenly hugs my knees.
He peers at my body from head to toe.


“Now can I finish my story, Patrick?” I ask, but don’t
bother to wait for permission to continue.


“Through their bereavement and my grief and
suffering I name what’s inevitable.
This very day is my awakening.
Yes, yes... indeed.
The question remains.
Have I truly experienced my real nature after
this new experience? I don’t know.
I haven’t the courage to face myself.
Since there’s no answer, then I am what I am...
My fate is sealed and unknown.
However I have sufficient spirit to invite you
into my subconscious world of
dreams,
pain,
anguish
and
mystery.”


I ignore him as I recite the last line off by heart.


“Well that’s all about myself,” I sigh unhappily and refuse to analyze his smirking face.


“That’s enough to start your future book,” handing me a pocket recorder which was in his jacket.


“What the shit is this, Pat? I was talking to you from the top of my head, but now it’s on this lifeless tape.”


“It’s OK. I think that the first chapter of our book is already taped. Here take it,” he stretches out to me a mini recorder and gave back to me my own story.


“I wish you good luck in publishing it,” he rejoiced.


“But, Pat, not before you tell me what’s in those letters from that Russian … Nureyev.
If … I want to take them, OK?”


“Of course you’ll take them, you must. They are my secrets from him, my Manoly. You know that I would never hurt him with anything. What right do I have to be a sinner, while he’s still alive? He is my Holy Chapel, my only divine sweetness in my life. Life in the hellish bullshit of Sydney’s bloody Intellectual Elite,” he scratched then blew his nose on a hanky, which he pulled out of his bright-checkered pants.


“You’re such a bloody trendy yuppie,” I snapped bitchy.


“It’s visible that a provincial shit like you hasn’t been to Paris.”


“So what, if I haven’t bloody been, but I’ve been with you, Pat. You’re more than Paris to me. Aren’t you its equivalent?”


“Hell, no. Paris is only Paris and it’s irreplaceable,” he quickly glances at his watch. “I’m so cheap compared to the others, especially to the French sleaziest genius Cocteau.”


“Yes, Paris is only equal to itself,” I slap his meaty butt.


“And you write chapter after chapter. You’ll get everything, bastard, sure success and money,” he smiled shyly. “Bless you.”


“I won’t write it, before you're in Heaven, Patrick,” I added dryly.


“You’re reading my mind, Yuri. That’s my only condition, for the sake of friendship. Promise, mate.”


“God, I promise. Yes, of course, I promise, but please live a long life, OK.”


My tears started to pour, giving in to my wish of saying good-bye to him with unnecessary water.


“Even if I am old, I know why you’ll get everything, because you’re extremely sincere. You don’t have the monkey like manner, which infected the Australians’ mentality. I believe in you. After … I have gone. You’ll be my only replacement,” he kissed my lips.


“Beware of the vicious hatred of dickheads. In the Aussie tropics it’s the most poisonous fruit. Now, I couldn’t give a damn about it. I might go back to Europe or maybe not. Who knows? Only God sees all. Hell, who knows? Yes, everything is open for God and for you to return back to Russia. Isn’t that painful?”


“It already hurts so bloody much,” I answered.


“I meant the value of those Russian letters, Yuri, which you’ll publish there for sure,” he shakes his head in disagreement.


I notice that he was late for something.


“Shit, it’s so simple. I’ll have them and David will never know that they exist,” I nodded confirming everything and burst into tears again.


“That’s just splendid! The main thing is not to interrupt his personal plans of writing about me. Let everything go its own way, then later, when he’s not expecting it, kick him in the arse. Oh, shit yes,” he gasped … then suddenly became silent.


“Kick him, what for?” I asked in puzzlement.


“Why” So that the dickhead didn’t become the one and only world wide expert of my Nobel Prize For Literature Achievements! But, don't forget to include Rudy and me as blue Britons and don’t say that most of it happened in Armidale, OK? What ever you do, don’t confirm that it was just with you, OK? Don’t think that you’re the best of all, even if you are writing about Rudy and me. The world respects us and remembers people like us, and nobody else. You know that you don’t you?”


“What a hell of a book, especially when everyone in it is still alive.”


“Isn’t this the title of your book; “Patrick White: A love machine and grinder of hearts.”...” he jokingly added.


“It’s simply ecstatic. Can I expect you to pray for me in Heaven?” I asked. “For this … “Grinding machine”?” I added.


“Yes, for sure, I’ll even write you a blessing in my will, I promise, Yuri,” he went without saying good-bye or looking back.


“So now I can bloody write whatever I want!” I shout after him as I kneel.


He suddenly stopped and came back slowly.


He uttered no words.


He kissed and crossed my forehead in a farewell blessing.


I stood with the pack of precious letters, roughly wrapped in an old embroidered handkerchief.


He left to prepare to go and lie in the hospital tomorrow or the day after.
He was never sorry for himself, now so tired of life.


EVERYTHING WAS TRIED,
EVERYTHING WAS WRITTEN,
HE ACHIEVED ALL HIS DREAMS,
I SILENTLY PRAYED FOR HIM, MR. WHITE.


I wanted his return, but his guardian angel took him to God, and gave him the gift of eternity in Heaven.


What else can I remember?


He stands over me as I’m on my knees.
I opened my eyes and looked up at him up and down, then shut them instantly.
Between us, on his chest was an image of an oval shaped cross.
The Spaniards knew who to present the spiritual wooden talisman.


He was no more a sinner after that.
Those special nuns absorbed his sins.


They started to confess for his sake in Holy caves in Spain.


The nuns didn’t know that his hidden DEATH slept close by.


Immediately, IT awoke to fill Him with Immortality.




Äðóãèå ñòàòüè â ëèòåðàòóðíîì äíåâíèêå: